Three-Day Pacuare River Expedition: Is The Long Run Worth It
Three days on the Pacuare buys the whole river instead of its highlight reel: two nights at a riverside lodge and time inside a gorge with no road access. Here is what the listings, operators and national rules actually say before you commit.
Short answer
The one three-day listing on this roster is the Tropical Rivers expedition, from $505 per person, private, departing Siquirres with breakfast, lunch and dinner included. Two-day alternatives run from $269 to $397 per person.
The Pacuare is a rain-fed river that drops out of the Cordillera de Talamanca and runs east to the Caribbean through a gorge that most commercial trips touch for a single day. The river's total length is contested, about 108 to 133 km depending on the source, but the part rafters care about is the Lower section: Class III and IV water through the Huacas River Gorge, dropping about 370 meters from the Finca La Cruz area to the town of Siquirres. A one-day trip samples it. A three-day expedition lives in it.
This guide compares what the multi-day listings on this roster actually sell, at what price, with which lodges and cancellation terms. The Pacuare Costa Rica Rafting catalogue carries five multi-day products: four two-day trips and one genuine three-day expedition, the 3 Day Tour of the Pacuare River, from $505 per person with Tropical Rivers. If you are weighing it against the shorter options, the honest answer is that the decision turns on budget, fitness and how much you want the middle day, not on rapid count, because the marquee gorge water appears on every itinerary.

What Does A Three-Day Pacuare River Expedition Actually Include?
A three-day Pacuare expedition combines roughly two full days and a short first day on Class III-IV water with two nights at a riverside lodge, all meals from arrival breakfast through final lunch, and a Siquirres departure. The roster's three-day listing, run by Tropical Rivers, is from $505 per person, private, with too few reviews, 14 in total, for a reliable star rating.
The one genuine three-day product in the catalogue is the 3 Day Tour of the Pacuare River in Costa Rica. It departs Siquirres, runs three days and includes three breakfasts, three lunches and two dinners. Its refund terms are stricter than the day-trip norm: a full refund needs at least 6 full days of notice, 2 to 6 days returns 50 percent, and later cancellations are not refunded. Its 14 reviews are real but too few for us to print a rating as evidence of quality.
The rhythm of a three-day trip comes from the operators' own published itineraries rather than from any single listing. Pacuare River Lodge describes its three-day tour as about 24 miles of total river distance, with a short first day on the water, a full gorge day, and three to four hours of rafting on the final day, meeting at Finca Tres Equis at 10:00 a.m. sharp. Guests sleep in 14 cabin bungalows overlooking the river, and all meals from lunch on day one through lunch on day three are included. That structure, arrive gently, raft hard, float out, is what separates the expedition from a two-day hit.
What the extra day buys is the middle. On a two-day trip the schedule compresses: the Exploradores Outdoors two-day itinerary, published on its listing, runs about 13 km and 14 rapids on day one to reach the lodge, then about 23 km and roughly 30 rapids on day two to finish at its Siquirres exploration center. A third day spreads that same gorge across a slower arc and adds the hiking, swimming holes and hanging-out time. Operators commonly report wildlife in the corridor, but no sighting is promised, and the rain-fed river means rapid class on any given day is a condition call, not a listing fact.
| Element | Three-day expedition (Tropical Rivers) | Two-day (Exploradores Outdoors) | Two-day with transport (Excitement Costa Rica) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | from $505 per person | from $269 per person | from $370 per person |
| Days | 3 | 2 | 2 |
| Nights on river | 2 | 1 at Pacuare River Lodge | 1 at Avesol Lodge |
| Class stated | Not stated | III-IV | Not stated |
| Meals | 3 breakfasts, 3 lunches, 2 dinners | 2 breakfasts, 2 lunches, 1 dinner | 2 breakfasts, 2 lunches, 1 dinner |
| Format | private | shared | shared, up to 50 guests |
| Cancellation | full refund 6+ full days out, 50% at 2 to 6 days | full refund up to 24 hours before | full refund up to 24 hours before |
How Much Does A Three-Day Pacuare Rafting Trip Cost?
Multi-day Pacuare trips on this roster run from $269 to $505 per person, with the three-day expedition at the top of that range and the two-day Exploradores trip at the bottom. The 3-day trip is from $505, the 2-day Tropical Rivers trip from $397, and the cheapest two-day, from San Jose, Puerto Viejo or La Fortuna, from $269.
Price in this market scales with nights and inclusions more than with adrenaline. The step from the San José Caribe Arenal Pacuare Hiking and Rafting 2-Day Trip at from $269 per person to the three-day at from $505 is not a rapid upgrade; both include Class III-IV water. What changes is that the $269 trip includes one night at Pacuare River Lodge with transfers from three departure cities, while the $505 trip adds a second night, a third day of river and a private format.
Two other two-day listings sit between them and are worth naming because they are often confused with each other. The 2-Day Tour of the Pacuare River with Tropical Rivers, from $397 per person, is a private Class III-IV trip departing Siquirres with too few reviews, 9, for a star claim. The Two-Day Rafting Tour with Transportation Included, from $370 per person with Excitement Costa Rica, departs San Jose and overnights at Avesol Lodge, with 5 hours of rafting, a safety kayaker and all fees and taxes listed as included. A fifth option, the 2 Day Pacuare River Rafting and Hiking Tour with Greenway Nature Day Tours, from $375 per person, overnights at Pacuare River Lodge and caps groups at 14 guests. Same river, same gorge, five genuinely different products.
None of these prices includes gratuities where the listing names them as excluded, and the Tropical Rivers trips exclude alcoholic beverages and tips. Photography is sold separately on several listings, priced at US$32.00 per person on one San Jose day trip, which is a fair indicator of what photo add-ons cost in this market, though each listing prices its own. Budget reality: a couple booking the three-day expedition should plan around the listing price plus tips and any photos, not plus hidden fees, because the multi-day listings on this roster include meals and lodging in the printed price.

Market snapshots from outside this catalogue, like operator websites quoting one-day trips near $145 before a 13 percent tourism tax, are not the prices you will pay through these listings. For a full cost breakdown across one-day and multi-day formats, see the companion guide on what a Pacuare trip costs.
Two Days Or Three Days On The Pacuare: Which Fits You?
Three days fits travelers who want a rest day inside the gorge and can absorb a $505 entry price plus a refund policy that pays back in full only 6 or more days out. Two days fits everyone else: the same Class III-IV gorge, one lodge night, and prices from $269 to $397. The rapid spectrum is essentially identical across formats, so the choice is about time and money, not thrills.
Start with the water, because marketing implies otherwise. The Lower Pacuare's commercial stretch is Class III-IV regardless of trip length; the two-day Exploradores listing says so explicitly, and the national age norm treats them the same, legally open from age 12 for Class I to IV per INTE G60-1:2019, though operators set their own, sometimes higher, minimums and you should check each listing. Nobody sells a harder, longer rapid set by adding a day.
What three days add is dwelling. Two-day itineraries published by operators show a compressed rhythm: a 13 km first day with 14 rapids, an afternoon arrival at the lodge past noon, then a 23 km second day with roughly 30 rapids and a river lunch before the take-out near Siquirres. That is a superb trip and it is the format most people book. But it leaves little slack for the side canyons, swimming holes and waterfall hikes that the gorge contains, and it ends with a long drive the moment you leave the water. The three-day format trades that efficiency for a middle day that belongs to the rainforest rather than the paddle.
Fitness, schedule and risk tolerance decide it as much as money. If your group includes teenagers who meet the age floor, the two-day trips are the standard family choice and this site's guide to rafting the Pacuare with kids and teens covers the age rules in detail. If you are a couple or a small friend group with three spare days in Costa Rica and a taste for remoteness, the private three-day format is the only listing that gives you the gorge without a schedule breathing down your neck. And if your dates might move, remember the window: the Tropical Rivers trips refund in full only 6 or more days out, while the Exploradores and Excitement Costa Rica two-days refund in full up to 24 hours before.
| You are... | Best fit on this roster | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Three spare days, want remoteness | 3 Day Tour, from $505 | private, 2 nights, full gorge arc |
| Budget-led, from San Jose or the coast | Exploradores 2-day, from $269 | transfers from 3 cities included |
| Want transport from San Jose sorted | Two-Day with Transportation, from $370 | Avesol Lodge, fees and taxes included |
| Small group, hate crowds | Greenway 2-day, from $375 | up to 14 guests |
| Pure river focus, no frills | Tropical Rivers 2-day, from $397 | private, Class III-IV, Siquirres base |
How Fit Do You Need To Be For Three Days Of Pacuare Rafting?
The Tropical Rivers, Excitement Costa Rica and Greenway lodge listings ask for a moderate physical fitness level and rule out travellers with heart problems or other serious medical conditions; none states a weight limit. What the format itself demands is sustained paddling across two big days, the ability to swim in moving water wearing a helmet and life jacket, and the resilience to sleep two nights at a rainforest lodge with no road at the door.
The honesty limit matters here: the roster carries no weight or height limits for the multi-day listings. Industry practice, reported by operators on the Pacuare, includes mandatory life jackets and helmets for the entire trip including calm sections, guides trained in swift-water rescue, and on some listings a dedicated safety kayaker, which the Two-Day with Transportation listing names among its inclusions. Those are structural safety features, not a promise of safety, and no operator or writer can give a river a "safe" verdict.
Day-to-day, three days on the Pacuare is more demanding than one, mainly through accumulation. A one-day trip gives you a single descent and a hot meal at the end. The expedition format asks you to paddle a long gorge day, sleep early, wake sore, and do it again, twice. Exploradores Outdoors describes the run as Class 4 at high water and Class 3+ at low water, which is the river's own seasonal honesty: the same rapid is a different animal in October than in March. Reasonable preparation is comfort swimming, decent shoulder and core stamina, and a candid self-assessment, because the take-out is a long way from anywhere once you are committed inside the gorge.
The national rulebook frames the age side. Under Costa Rica's rafting technical norm, read verbatim from INTE G60-1:2019, the class-by-age table runs: under 5 no class; 5 to 7 Class I and II; 8 to 11 Class I to III; 12 to 17 Class I to IV; 18 and over Class I to V. A Class III-IV Pacuare trip is therefore legally open from 12, and some operators raise their own floor to 14 in the wetter June to November months. The three-day listing itself states no minimum age, so it is a check-the-listing question, and our age limits and fitness guide works through every listing's stated floor.
What Are The Lodges Like On A Multi-Day Pacuare Trip?
Two lodge names appear across this roster's multi-day listings, Pacuare River Lodge and Avesol Lodge, while the Tropical Rivers trips leave theirs unnamed. Room, bath, menu and power details exist only where a listing states them, and this roster states few, so the honest description is structural: the inclusions list is the contract.
The Exploradores two-day listing is the most specific: one night at Pacuare River Lodge, two breakfasts, two lunches, one dinner, insurance, hikes and two days of rafting, with transportation to and from San Jose, Puerto Viejo or La Fortuna town included and hotels outside La Fortuna costing extra. The Greenway two-day names the same lodge with one night lodging, breakfast, dinner and lunch included, capped at 14 guests. The Excitement Costa Rica two-day names Avesol Lodge with a standard room, hiking trails and waterfalls, and a happy hour listed among the inclusions.
The Tropical Rivers two-day and three-day listings, the latter being the expedition this guide centers on, state full meals but name no lodge; the property details live on the operator's own page and the booking page, and you should read them there before committing. That is a real difference in what you can verify in advance: with the Exploradores and Greenway listings you know the lodge name before you pay, with the Tropical Rivers trips you know the format but not the bed.
Context from outside the roster, clearly labeled as such: operator pages describe the commercial Pacuare lodges as off-grid, reached primarily by raft, with hydroelectric power and reclaimed-wood construction reported at one property. Treat those as operator self-description, not as terms of your booking. What your money buys is exactly the inclusion list on the listing you book, and every multi-day listing here includes lodging and full board in the printed price. For where to sleep the nights before and after the river, see where to stay near the Pacuare and Turrialba.
| Listing | Nights | Lodge named | Meals stated | Format | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3 Day Tour (Tropical Rivers) | 2 | not named | breakfast, lunch, dinner | private | from $505 |
| 2 Day Tour (Tropical Rivers) | 1 | not named | breakfast, lunch, dinner | private | from $397 |
| Two-Day with Transportation (Excitement CR) | 1 | Avesol Lodge | breakfast, lunch, dinner | shared, up to 50 | from $370 |
| 2 Day Rafting and Hiking (Greenway) | 1 | Pacuare River Lodge | breakfast, lunch, dinner | shared, up to 14 | from $375 |
| Hiking and Rafting 2-Day (Exploradores) | 1 | Pacuare River Lodge | 2 breakfasts, 2 lunches, 1 dinner | shared | from $269 |
The Avesol option deserves a plain note: it is the only San Jose-departing two-day on the roster with transportation and lodging bundled and all fees and taxes listed as included, which removes the most common surprise on multi-day bookings, the extra transfer charge. Its 10 reviews are too few for a star claim. The Greenway trip's single review is likewise too few, so book it on its stated format, not on crowd wisdom.
When Should You Book A Three-Day Pacuare Expedition?
Operators run the Pacuare all year, and the practical booking windows are February to April for lower, more predictable water suited to first-timers, and September to December for bigger, faster water preferred by experienced rafters. Water is highest October to December and lowest March to April. Book multi-day lodges early for the dry-season peak, and read each listing's refund terms, which run from 24 hours to 6 days.
The season logic comes from the operators and climate record, not from any listing. Modelled ERA5 rainfall averages for the Turrialba grid point put November as the wettest month at 477 mm on average and March among the driest at 181 mm, with the Siquirres lowland grid wetter still, 556 mm in November. Operators describe the same pattern in river terms: highest, fastest water October to December, lowest March to April, and many point first-timers and families toward February to April. In rainy months some Class III rapids run closer to Class IV, and some operators raise the minimum age from 12 to 14 between June and November. None of this closes the river, but it changes who the expedition suits.

For a three-day expedition specifically, two calendar realities sharpen the choice. First, the multi-day lodges are small, 14 cabin bungalows at Pacuare River Lodge and group caps as low as 14 guests on one listing, so dry-season dates fill in a way one-day inventory does not. Second, the Tropical Rivers trips refund in full only 6 or more days out, though the lodge listings that state a weather policy offer a new date or a full refund if poor weather cancels the trip. If your trip has hard dates, the buffer of a February-to-April booking is worth real money.

Timing also interacts with arrival logistics. The expedition departs Siquirres, on the Caribbean slope, while several two-day options collect from San Jose, Puerto Viejo or La Fortuna town. Commonly reported drive times, worth verifying for your own route: San Jose to Turrialba about 1h20 to 1h40, San Jose to Puerto Viejo de Talamanca about 3h30 to 4h25, and La Fortuna to Turrialba about 3h30. A three-day trip that starts from Siquirres asks you to be on the Caribbean side the night before, which argues for pairing it with a Caribbean-coast stay rather than a rushed San Jose morning. The full seasonal picture, including what each month means for rapid class, is in the best time to raft the Pacuare.

| Period | Water conditions reported | Who it suits | Booking note |
|---|---|---|---|
| February to April | lowest water, most predictable | first-timers, families, photographers | lodges fill earliest |
| May to August | rising, faster water | confident paddlers | some operators raise min age to 14 |
| September to October | big water likely | experienced rafters | afternoon storms reported |
| November to December | highest, fastest water | experts; operators may reroute | hardest dates to rebook |
One last honest note on timing and proof. The three-day listing has 14 reviews, and the two-day field ranges from 1 to 10. Nobody in this corner of the market can claim a crowd-verified track record the way the site's most reviewed product can, the one-day Turrialba trip with 5.0 from 385 reviews. Book the expedition on its format, its inclusions and its stated cancellation terms, verified on the live listing, not on a star rating drawn from 14 reviews.
Common Questions About Three-Day Pacuare River Expeditions
How Much Does A 3-day Pacuare Rafting Trip Cost?
The one three-day listing on this roster, the 3 Day Tour of the Pacuare River with Tropical Rivers, is from $505 per person, private, departing Siquirres with breakfast, lunch and dinner included. Two-day alternatives run from $269 to $397 per person. Gratuities and alcoholic beverages are excluded where the listing says so.
Is Three Days On The Pacuare Better Than Two?
Not better, longer. The Class III-IV gorge water is the same on both formats. Three days add a second lodge night, a slower arc with hiking and swimming-hole time, and a private format on the one three-day listing, at a higher price and stricter refund terms, with a full refund only 6 or more days before departure.
Do I Need To Be Fit For A Three-day Pacuare Expedition?
The three-day listing asks for a moderate physical fitness level and states no weight limit. The format asks for sustained paddling across two big river days, comfort swimming in moving water, and two nights at a roadless rainforest lodge. Operators report mandatory helmets and life jackets and guides trained in swift-water rescue.
What Lodge Do You Sleep At On A Multi-day Pacuare Trip?
It depends on the listing: the Exploradores and Greenway two-day trips name Pacuare River Lodge, the Excitement Costa Rica two-day names Avesol Lodge with a standard room, and the Tropical Rivers two-day and three-day trips name no lodge, only full meals. The inclusion list on the listing you book is the contract.
When Is The Best Month To Book A Three-day Pacuare Expedition?
Operators point first-timers and families to February to April, when water is lowest and most predictable; water is highest and fastest October to December, and experienced rafters seek that window. The river is runnable all year, and lodges are small, so dry-season multi-day dates fill early.
Can Beginners Do A Three-day Pacuare Trip?
The Pacuare's commercial stretch is Class III-IV and operators describe it as beginner-friendly at lower water, with one traveler reporting it very beginner friendly in May. The national norm opens Class III-IV from age 12, and some operators raise their floor to 14 from June to November. A three-day format suits confident beginners who want the middle rest day; uncertain paddlers should start with the comparison in our first-timer rafting guide.