How Much Does A White Water Rafting Trip Cost?
Real price bands for Pacuare River rafting in Costa Rica, from $99 day trips to $505 three-day expeditions, with what each price includes and what you pay extra for.
White water rafting trips get priced in strange ways. Some listings bundle breakfast, lunch, gear and hotel transport into one figure. Others quote a lower number and leave the transfer, the photos and even the pickup as extras you discover at checkout. On the Pacuare River in Costa Rica, the same stretch of Class III to IV water sells for anywhere between $99 and $505 per person depending on where you start, how long you stay and which operator runs the boat. Since a higher price does not always mean a better-run trip, it helps to read our plain answer on how safe white water rafting in Costa Rica really is before you pick an operator.
Those are not marketing ranges. They are the price floors of the 21 bookable listings on this site's roster. The cheapest firm-priced day trip is the most reviewed product on the river, and the most expensive is a three-day expedition with two nights of meals. Between them sit eight San Jose departures, six Turrialba departures, two Caribbean and Arenal departures and five overnight lodge trips, each with its own inclusions.
This article walks through every price band with the numbers printed plainly, then breaks down what drives the differences: transport distance, group size, meals, cancellation windows and the extras many operators leave out.
A white water rafting trip costs from $99 to $195 per person for a one-day Pacuare run and from $269 to $505 per person for a multi-day lodge trip, in USD, based on the listings this site tracks. The lowest price, from $99, is the Turrialba day trip from Adrenalina Rafting. The highest, from $505, is the three-day Tropical Rivers expedition. Prices are per person and vary by departure town. If price alone is not your deciding factor, this region by region guide to Costa Rica's rafting rivers compares the Pacuare gorge against the Balsa and Sarapiqui so you can pick the right run.
That answer is deliberately narrow, because "white water rafting" is not one product. The roster on this site covers a single river, the Pacuare, and even within one river the price ladder has four distinct rungs. Turrialba departures are cheapest because the town sits closest to the water. San Jose departures cost roughly $20 to $40 more for the same water. Caribbean and Arenal departures sit at the top of the day-trip band. Lodge trips are a different product entirely and price like one. Timing shapes the river as much as departure point shapes the price, so if your dates are flexible, the month-by-month guide to rafting the Pacuare explains which trips fit which conditions.
The figure that anchors everything is the most reviewed listing on the river: Rafting Pacuare River One Day from Turrialba, from $99 per person, rated 5.0 from 385 reviews. That price includes helmets, life vests and paddles, a typical Costa Rican lunch at the end of the trip and private transportation, and it departs from Turrialba with the operator Adrenalina Rafting. When you see a lower number than that anywhere in Costa Rica, read the inclusions twice.
For context outside this catalogue, the market sits slightly higher. Pacuare Outdoor Center publishes one-day rates of $145 per person plus a 13 percent tourism tax on its own pricing page, and other Costa Rica rafting guides put the standard one-day Pacuare price near $99 to $112 once tax lands. The listings on this site fall inside that market band, sometimes at the bottom of it.
What Actually Drives The Price Of A Rafting Trip?
Three things move the price: transport distance from your hotel to the river, how much food and gear is bundled in, and whether you sleep riverside. A Turrialba day trip at $99 and a San Jose day trip at $125 paddle the same water; the $26 gap is largely the bus. Overnight trips triple or quadruple the price because they add lodging, five or more meals and a second day of guiding.

Distance is the biggest single factor. San Jose to Turrialba is commonly reported at about 1 hour 20 minutes to 1 hour 40 minutes of driving, and San Jose to the Siquirres side of the river is about 1 hour 37 minutes. Operators absorb that cost in vehicles, fuel and driver hours, and it shows up in the sticker. The two San Jose listings at $125 per person and the Turrialba listings at $99 to $140 are not selling different rivers.
Meals are the second factor. Every San Jose day-trip listing in the roster includes breakfast and lunch, because the schedule forces both: pickups run early in the morning and the day runs long. Turrialba departures start later and mostly include lunch only, which is part of why they run cheaper. On the lodge trips, the meal count jumps to breakfast, lunch and dinner, some of them multiplied across two or three days, and the price follows.
The third factor is exclusivity. The Authentic Pacuare River Costa Rica Rafting Tour from Ivantours caps groups at 10 guests and prices from $195 per person, nearly double the cheapest listing. Small groups and private trips carry private-trip money. Conversely, the Full Day Pacuare River Rafting Experience lists capacity up to 200 guests and prices from $124, with five hours of rafting, a safety kayaker and all fees and taxes included in that figure. Ticos River Adventures' private four-hour run from Turrialba, 4.9 from 204 reviews, is from $125 per person.
One cost nobody escapes: photos. Across the roster, souvenir photography is repeatedly listed as an excluded extra, sometimes with a stated price, as on the Costa Rica Groups Travel Company listing where photography is sold at US$32.00 per person. Budget for it or leave the phone locked in the locker, because operators state that valuables on the raft are the participant's responsibility.
What Does A One-Day Pacuare Trip Cost From Each Departure Town?
From Turrialba, day trips run from $99 to $140 per person. From San Jose, from $112 to $195. From Puerto Viejo, from $147, and from La Fortuna, from $150. Every one of those figures is the listing's own floor price, and each includes at least lunch; the San Jose, Caribbean and Arenal departures include breakfast as well.
Here is the day-trip ladder, price floors only, exactly as the listings state them.
| Departure | Listing | Price floor | Duration | Meals included |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Turrialba | Rafting Pacuare River One Day (Adrenalina Rafting) | from $99 | 6 hours | Lunch |
| Turrialba | Rafting Pacuare River from Turrialba (Explornatura) | from $120 | 6 hours | Lunch |
| Turrialba | Pacuare River Rafting (Ticos River Adventures) | from $119 | 4 hours | Lunch |
| Turrialba | Pacuare River (Ticos River Adventures, private) | from $125 | 4 hours | Not stated |
| Turrialba | Pacuare River Rafting Class IV (Turrialtours) | from $125 | 8 hours | Lunch |
| Turrialba | Rafting Pacuare Costa Rica (Travesias Naturales) | from $140 | Check the listing | Lunch |
| San Jose | From San José: Pacuare River Class 3 & 4 Day Trip | from $125 | 9 hours | Breakfast and lunch |
| San Jose | White Water Rafting Pacuare River From San José | from $125 | 10 hours | Breakfast and lunch |
| San Jose | 1 day Pacuare River Rafting with Transportation and Lunch | from $128 | 4 hours 30 minutes | Breakfast and lunch |
| San Jose | Full Day Pacuare River Rafting Experience | from $124 | 1 day | Breakfast and lunch |
| San Jose | Day Trip to Pacuare River Rafting Class III-IV | from $139 | 11 hours | Breakfast and lunch |
| San Jose | The Authentic Pacuare River Costa Rica Rafting Tour | from $195 | 9 hours | Breakfast and lunch |
| San Jose area | San José Caribe Arenal Pacuare 1-Day Rafting Adventure | from $112 | 1 day | Breakfast and lunch |
| Puerto Viejo | White Water Rafting Pacuare River with Lunch | from $147 | 7 hours 30 minutes | Breakfast and lunch |
| La Fortuna | La Fortuna: Pacuare Rafting with SJO or Puerto Viejo Shuttle | from $150 | 10 hours | Breakfast and lunch |
Two reading notes on that table. First, "duration" is each listing's own total length, door to door, not time on the water. The 11-hour San Jose day and the 4-hour Turrialba trip can involve similar river time; the difference is the drive. Second, the $112 San José Caribe Arenal listing is not a pure San Jose product, it departs from San Jose, Puerto Viejo or La Fortuna, and its price sits below the other San Jose listings.
If you are already staying in Turrialba, the arithmetic is decisive. The Rafting Pacuare River from Turrialba listing by Explornatura, from $120 per person and rated 5.0 from 196 reviews, even includes transfer from Turrialba in the price. For a deeper look at the timing and logistics, the one-day Pacuare trip planning guide breaks down a full day on this run.
What Do Multi-Day Pacuare Lodge Trips Cost?
Multi-day Pacuare trips cost from $269 to $505 per person: four two-day options between $269 and $397, and one three-day trip at $505. Every one includes overnight lodging at a riverside property and full board, breakfast, lunch and dinner, with meals multiplied across the days. Three of the five set longer cancellation windows than day trips, 3 to 6 days before departure per the listings.
| Listing | Days | Price floor | Overnight stop | Meals |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| San José Caribe Arenal Pacuare Hiking and Rafting 2-Day Trip | 2 | from $269 | Pacuare River Lodge | 2 breakfasts, 2 lunches, 1 dinner |
| Two-Day Rafting Tour with Transportation (Excitement Costa Rica) | 2 | from $370 | Avesol Lodge | Breakfast, lunch, dinner |
| 2 Day Pacuare River Rafting and Hiking Tour (Greenway) | 2 | from $375 | Pacuare River Lodge | Breakfast, lunch, dinner |
| 2-Day Tour of the Pacuare River (Tropical Rivers) | 2 | from $397 | Lodge, per listing | Breakfast, lunch, dinner |
| 3 Day Tour of the Pacuare River (Tropical Rivers) | 3 | from $505 | Lodge, per listing | 3 breakfasts, 3 lunches, 2 dinners |

The cheapest overnight, the Exploradores Outdoors two-day trip at from $269 per person, is also the most connected: it includes hotel pickup from San Jose, Puerto Viejo or La Fortuna town, insurance, two days of rafting with hikes and the night at Pacuare River Lodge. At the other end, the Tropical Rivers three-day expedition at from $505 is a private trip with lodge nights between. The Exploradores listing describes its two-day structure as roughly 13 km and 14 rapids on day one to the lodge, then about 23 km with around 30 rapids on day two, ending near Siquirres. The wider set of guides lives on Pacuare Costa Rica Rafting.
One thing to check before booking any lodge trip: the cancellation window. All but one day-trip listing on this roster advertise free cancellation, but three of the five multi-day listings set windows of 3 to 6 days before departure. That difference matters when a flight changes. The two-day Pacuare overnight guide covers the lodge options in detail.
What Is Included In The Price, And What Is Not?
Most listings in the roster name a guide or rafting equipment among the inclusions, though not every listing itemizes them. Every listing includes at least one meal, and all but one day trip advertise free cancellation. Commonly excluded are gratuities, alcoholic drinks and souvenir photos. Hotel pickup depends entirely on the listing: some include it, some exclude it, some do not state it.
The pattern is consistent enough to summarize. On the San Jose side, the two big listings include round-trip transport from selected hotels, and you confirm your pickup point on the booking page. The Pacuare River Whitewater Rafting listing from Costa Rica Groups Travel Company includes hotel pickup and drop-off and still prices from $119 rather than $125. Where the roster says "pickup not stated," check the listing for transport before assuming anything either way.
| Commonly included | Commonly excluded | Varies by listing |
|---|---|---|
| Professional guide | Gratuities | Hotel pickup and drop-off |
| Helmet, life vest, paddle | Souvenir photos | Breakfast |
| Lunch | Alcoholic drinks | Group size cap |
| Free cancellation (day trips) | Waterproof phone cases | Transport from your town |
| Safety kayaker (some listings) | Bottled water (some) | Minimum age above 12 |
A few inclusions stand out as genuinely above the norm. The Ticos River Adventures listing from Turrialba, from $119 per person and rated 4.9 from 27 reviews, lists a deli-style lunch, beverages, a certified guide, a dedicated safety kayak and an insurance policy in its price. That is an unusually full inclusion list for a sub-$125 day trip.
Gear you must bring yourself never appears in the price: swimwear or quick-dry clothes, secure water shoes, sunscreen, a towel and a change of clothes. Operators provide the safety equipment; the personal kit is yours. The what to bring guide has the full checklist.
Why Do Prices For The Same River Differ So Much?
Because the roster sells 16 different day products on one river, run by 14 different operators with different vehicles, group caps, meal arrangements and business models. The same Class III to IV water costs $99 from Turrialba and $195 from San Jose when one operator runs 40-guest shared trips and another caps the boat at 10 guests. You are paying for proximity, intimacy and bundle, not for better rapids.

Group size is the quiet variable. The Adrenalina Rafting listing caps at 40 guests, the Explornatura Turrialba trip at 24, the Turrialtours Class IV trip at 18, and the Ivantours authentic tour at 10. Same river, wildly different boat-to-guest experience. The national rafting norm requires operators to give the minimum age by rapid class and to check river conditions before running, so the baseline safety floor is set by regulation rather than by price; what the extra money buys is space, not safety.
Season shifts difficulty, not price. Water is highest and fastest on the Pacuare from October to December and lowest from March to April, and operators prefer February to April for first timers and families. Some operators raise their minimum age from 12 to 14 in the wetter months when the water runs higher, but the roster shows no seasonal price tiers, listings run year-round at the same floor. If a blogger tells you rafting is cheaper in green season, on this river the listings do not show it.
Rating pools also differ enormously, and a price tag does not predict them. The most reviewed Turrialba trip carries 5.0 from 385 reviews; several San Jose listings carry under 20 reviews each, too few for a star claim to mean much on their own. Review count is free to check and worth more than any discount. Two more Turrialba departures follow: Explornatura at 5.0 from 196 reviews and Ticos River Adventures at 4.9 from 27.
How To Get The Best Value On A Pacuare Rafting Trip?
Pick your departure town before you pick your trip, because it sets the price band: Turrialba for the $99 to $140 floor, San Jose for convenience at $112 to $195. Then match the inclusions to your day: if breakfast and hotel pickup matter, pay the San Jose premium; if you sleep in Turrialba, do not. Finally, read the exclusions line for photos and gratuities before comparing numbers.
The single biggest saving available is geographic. Staying a night in Turrialba instead of San Jose drops the price floor by $26 on essentially identical water and shortens the day by hours. Turrialba is about 1 hour 20 to 1 hour 40 from San Jose by road, commonly reported, and direct buses run hourly from San Jose's Terminal Transtusa for a few dollars, so even without a car the town is reachable. The trade is simple: cheaper rafting and a shorter day against one night of lodging in a small town.
The second saving is honesty about extras. Photos at US$32 per person on one listing, gratuities on many listings, drinks sometimes. That is not a scam, it is the industry's standard split, but budget for it up front. The Puerto Viejo departure, from $147 with breakfast, lunch, lockers, changing facilities and river entrance fees included, shows what a fully bundled price looks like; when a listing itemizes aggressively, the comparison gets easier, not harder.
The third lever is the overnight decision. If you were going to book two day trips anyway, the $269 two-day listing includes a night at Pacuare River Lodge plus five meals. Nobody should book a lodge trip to save money on a one-visit vacation. For the full cost breakdown by trip type, see how much Pacuare River rafting costs.
Beyond the roster, the wider market gives you a sanity band: independent Costa Rica rafting guides put the standard one-day Pacuare price at roughly $99 plus tax and overnight packages at $250 to $450 per person, which brackets every listing above except the premium three-day expedition. If a price lands far outside that band in either direction, the inclusions deserve a second read.
Common Questions About White Water Rafting Trip Costs
How Much Does A White Water Rafting Trip Cost?
On the Pacuare River in Costa Rica, from $99 to $195 per person for a one-day trip and from $269 to $505 for a multi-day lodge trip. The $99 floor is the most reviewed Turrialba day trip; the $505 ceiling is a private three-day expedition. All figures are per-person floors from the operators' live listings.
Why Do San Jose Rafting Trips Cost More Than Turrialba Trips?
Transport. San Jose departures include a drive of roughly 1.5 hours each way plus breakfast because of the early pickup, so the same river costs about $20 to $40 more than departing from Turrialba, which sits near the water.
Are Meals Included In The Rafting Price?
Almost always at least lunch. Every San Jose, Caribbean and Arenal day-trip listing includes breakfast and lunch. Turrialba departures include lunch, with one exception that lists no meal. Lodge trips include breakfast, lunch and dinner across all days.
What Extras Are Not In The Price?
Typically gratuities, alcoholic drinks and souvenir photos; one listing prices its photo package at US$32.00 per person. Some listings also exclude bottled water and waterproof phone cases. Check the exclusions line on the listing before comparing prices.
Is Rafting Cheaper In The Dry Season?
Not on this river. The listings show the same price floors year-round. Season changes the water level, highest October to December and lowest March to April, and some operators raise minimum ages in high water, but no listing prices by month.
Do I Pay More For Hotel Pickup?
It depends on the listing. Several San Jose and Caribbean listings include hotel pickup and drop-off; others explicitly exclude it and meet you at a base; some do not state pickup at all. Where the roster says pickup is not stated, check the listing for transport before booking.